It is currently Tue Feb 18, 2020 1:06 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: When I 'make' the file 'demo.c', no hex file appears
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:25 am 
New User

Hi All,
I am not new to microcontrollers but I am new to programming in C. The manual provides a good introduction to C and shows how to compile the file 'test.c' in the 'FirstTry' folder so that it makes a hex file for flashing.

That works fine. But because I am not anywhere near being able to program in C myself, I assumed that one of the other files supplied, like 'Demo.c' or 'LineDemo.c' would make my robot do something.

I tried to 'make' these files (in the SelfTest folder) using the make tools previously made for the manual example. No hex file appeared even though the compiler shows a successful build with no errors.

Then I guessed that maybe a new make tool could be made in the relevant folder (SelfTest, where the demo.c file is found) using command something like C:\ASURO_src\SelfTest\Demo-all.bat but that did nothing also.

It seems that the manual is missing the chapter where you actually make the robot work and doesn't even hint at how to do it. It's very frustrating, particularly as I was doing this with my 14 year old daughter who needs to see that programming can do something useful after all the code!!

Please help! :wall:

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: When I 'make' the file 'demo.c', no hex file appears
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:37 pm 
arexx.com expert user

I don't know which robot model you speak of, so I also can't be sure which manual you are refering to. Asuro? RP6? Robot-arm? (though it doesn't do linefollowing obviously)

[EDIT] Nevermind, the "C:\ASURO_SRC" filepath speaks for itself..